WATERCOLOUR

Watercolour made of natural pigments on recycled fibers paper, black and white photographs on paper strips, wood sticks, 76 x 76 cm, 2020

Investigation of the notion of reality through the observation of territory and nature.

Works designed and made for the project “Us, Our Territories : What Truly Matters is Unlisted”, funded by the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec through the territorial partnership program. This was an opportunity to experience many things for the first time : discovering watercolour, working with raw natural pigments, exploring the basics of the geometry of nature.

These watercolours and photo strips have first been shown as diptychs, for a total series of 21 works. This touring exhibition has stopped in six different places of the Lower Saint Lawrence area in Québec in November 2020, and was the excuse to just as many public discussions about the bond to the territory.

The number of works in the series as well as the size of the watercolours relate to some of the basic geometric principles studied for the project, namely the Fibonacci sequence and the golden ratio.

.

01  The Surface is Illusory

 

02  A Few Layers of Reality

 

03  The Basics (Primary Notions)

 

04  The Original Stain

 

05  Flexibility of the Natural Order

 

06  Emergence of the Concept

 

07  The Ditch

 

08  Fascination for the Elegance of the Perfect Line

 

09  Applied Geometry

 

10  Through the Eye of the Mink

 

11  Squaring the Circle According to the Golden Birch

 

12  A Chart of the Main Tree Species of the LSL (Yes, This is Absurd)

 

13  The Illusion of the Integration of the Concept Into the Territory

 

14  Managed Territory

 

15  Stranded Concepts

 

16  Deconstruction of Form

 

17  Human Abstraction Serving the Nature That Inspired It (Tribute to Schauberger)

 

18  The Water That Shows

 

19  Looking for Balance Through Movement

 

20  Though Bees Don’t Know About This

 

21  A Light Touch Onto the Mystery

.

.

A starting point for my reflection, the photos also act as an entry point into the watercolours. They were taken in 2015 when I lived as an immigrant in the French Alps. They bring up the question which haunted me back then, and which I carried along when returning home : how is it possible that such a grandiose landscape doesn’t succeed in bringing the best out of the human beings who live right there within it?

To make the watercolours, I bought dry natural pigments and mixed them with arabic gum (a binder) to prepare the paint cups. As I was designing the body of works, I assumed that geometrical shapes would represent civilization (the cultural aspect of human beings), while the (water)colours would represent nature. It so happened for many of the works, although, just as I had foreseen it, in some of them the symbolics switched or fused.

The way that we conceive of ourselves is mirrored in the way that we manage our spaces. Our bond to the territory is the expression of our bond to oneself, and nowadays it is mostly characterized by culture rather than nature. Just as we constantly reinvent the culture that shapes our way of thinking and behaving, we have the power to reinvent our bond to the territory. Is it possible to consciously redefine our individual and collective culture? It is said that a given territory will have just as much of an influence over its inhabitants than the other way around : if that is so, what is it that makes us treat the territory the way that we do? Which is this part of ourselves (and therefore of nature since we are an integral part of it) that sometimes leads us to destruction, and sometimes leads us to protection? What is it, in both our nature and our culture, that dictates our choices on what is going to be damaged and what is going to be spared within us and around us?


© 2021 Andrée Bélanger

AQUARELLE

Aquarelle de pigments naturels sur papier de fibres textiles recyclées, photographie en noir et blanc sur bandes de papier, baguettes de bois de merisier, 76 x 76 cm, 2020

Exploration de la notion de réalité par l’observation du territoire et de la nature.

Oeuvres conçues et réalisées dans le cadre du projet Nous territoires : l’essentiel n’est pas répertorié, soutenu par le CALQ pour son programme de partenariat territorial. Ce fut l’occasion d’une première expérience d’exploration de l’aquarelle, de travail avec des pigments naturels bruts, et des principes de base de la géométrie de la nature.

Aquarelles et bandes-photos ont d’abord été présentées en diptyques, dans le contexte d’une série de 21 œuvres au total. Une exposition itinérante ayant visité six endroits de la région du Bas-Saint-Laurent en novembre 2020 a servi de prétexte à autant de discussions publiques sur le sujet du lien au territoire.

Le nombre des œuvres composant la série de même que le format choisi pour les aquarelles font référence à des principes géométriques étudiés dans le cadre du projet, nommément la suite de Fibonacci et le nombre d’or.

.

01  La surface est illusoire

 

02  Quelques couches de réalité

 

03  À la base (notions primaires)

 

04   La tache originelle

 

05  Souplesse de l’ordre naturel

 

06  Émergence du concept

 

07  Le fossé

 

08  Fascination pour l’élégance de la ligne parfaite

 

09  Géométrie appliquée

 

10  Dans l’oeil du vison

 

11  La quadrature du cercle selon le bouleau jaune

 

12  Tableau descriptif des principales essences d’arbres du BSL (oui, c’est absurde)

 

13  Illusion d’intégration du concept au territoire

 

14  Territoire aménagé

 

15  Concepts échoués

 

16  Déconstruction de la forme

 

17  L’abstraction humaine au service de la nature qui l’a inspirée (hommage à Schauberger)

 

18  L’eau qui montre

 

19  Recherche de l’équilibre dans le mouvement

 

20  Pourtant les abeilles ne le savent pas

 

21  Effleurer le mystère

.

.

Les photos constituent le point de départ de ma réflexion, et permettent d’appréhender les aquarelles qui les surmontent. Elles ont été prises en 2015 dans les Alpes françaises alors que j’y vivais comme immigrante. Elles soulèvent la question qui m’assaillait alors et que j’ai ramenée ici à mon retour au pays : comment un paysage aussi grandiose pouvait ne pas stimuler davantage ce qu’il y a de meilleur en les êtres humains qui l’habitent?

Les aquarelles ont été réalisées avec des pigments naturels, achetés secs puis mélangés avec de la gomme arabique (un liant) pour préparer les godets de peinture. Lors de la conception du corpus, les formes géométriques devaient représenter la civilisation (l’humain culturel) et les couleurs à l’aquarelle devaient représenter la nature. Ce fut le cas pour plusieurs des œuvres, mais comme je m’y attendais les symboliques se sont inversées et/ou ont fusionné dans d’autres compositions.

La façon dont nous nous percevons se reflète dans la façon dont nous organisons nos espaces. Notre lien au territoire constitue l’expression de notre lien à soi, et il n’a aujourd’hui presque plus rien de naturel : il est culturel. Au même titre que nous réinventons continuellement la culture qui dicte notre façon de penser et d’agir, nous avons le pouvoir de réinventer notre lien au territoire. Est-il possible de redéfinir notre culture individuelle et collective de manière consciente? Un territoire donné influencerait les gens qui l’habitent tout autant que l’inverse : si tel est le cas, qu’est-ce qui peut bien nous mener à le considérer tel que nous le faisons? Quelle est donc cette part de nous-mêmes (et donc de la nature dont nous sommes partie intégrante) qui nous invite tantôt à la destruction, tantôt à la protection? Qu’est-ce qui, dans notre nature et notre culture, dicte nos choix quant à ce qui sera endommagé et ce qui sera épargné en nous et autour de nous?


© 2021 Andrée Bélanger