EVENTS

.

ONGOING (2020) : “Us, Our Territories” Project

.

.

.

JULY

.

Carrying out more tests.

As I am getting closer to the point, geometry is now meeting up with watercolours.

The photos are soon to be on their way to the printing lab.

The first tests have been made to figure out the hanging of the works.

The designing of the final drawings is also well under way.

.

The project is showing good progress. I have never been working so intuitively, just enjoying the exploring process on the way to the final works. This is deeply refreshing.

Yet lately, from where I live and work in my shack in the forest, everyday and all day long I can hear the noise of the huge logging machine tearing up the earth and tearing down the trees almost two kilometers away. When I pass through there on my morning walk and get to witness the “progress” made on site, most of the time I can’t help crying : I know that this site and what is happening there is only one amongst so many. On the way back, sometimes I also encounter trash, or someone picking berries in the ditch while the engine of his vehicle is still running. When I talk about it, I often get a surprised facial expression since “there is so much wood, so much air, so much water… what’s the matter?”. This is all making me feel very lonely with my environmental concerns, and very small with my artwork as unique protection tool.

.

.

.

[JUNE]

In June I was supposed to complete “The Nest” Project in France, but I had to cancel it. Since I find myself with unexpected free time, I am retiring into the forest for the month. I’ll be back to work on “Us, Our Territories” in July.

.

.

MAY

.

Carrying out some tests.

.

.

APRIL

.

Acrylic paints got kicked out of my home last week. I am now making new paints from natural pigments. Deeply grateful to finally be able to make art, and still show respect to the wonders that I am surrounded with..

.

Found in « Make Ink », by Jason Logan.

« Color doesn’t live in material. It lives in light. »

« In 1665, [Isaac Newton] was forced to leave Cambridge University when it closed as a precaution against the Great Plague. He spent the remainder of the year and all of 1666 at the home of his parents. […] It was also in 1666 when he closed all the windows to his room and poked a tiny hole in his shutters. The tiny hole offered light a clean line into his room. He then positioned a toy prism in the beam and watched white light split into all the colors of the rainbow on his wall. The young Newton then placed a second prism in front of the rainbow on his wall and saw the colors channeled back into a single white beam. Besides being a why-didn’t-I-think-of-that experiment, it also said something about color and light that is both simple and shocking. Light doesn’t illuminate color. Light IS color.

The way we talk and think about color hasn’t totally caught up with this revelation. Light is made up of all the colors, each one vibrating at a different frequency. So when we say an ink is blue, it’s not that it contains blue, but rather it is giving us back blue light while absorbing all the other color vibrations. As mentioned previously, journalist Victoria Finlay wrote that we should think of things not as “being” a color but as “doing” a color. »

I would say that things show color, and therefore light.

.

.

MARCH

.

Launching of the creation part of the project.

First meetings with my mentors : Hélène Desjardins (watercolour) in La Pocatière, Yves Arcand (photo) in Matane, Michel Marcheterre (geometry) in Amqui.

What each of you provides me is invaluable, and it opens doors I didn’t even know existed. All my gratitude.

.

.

.

FEBRUARY

.

The Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec announces its financial support for the “Us, Our Territories” project -heartfelt thanks.

.

.

.

.


ARCHIVES

.

.

.

2019

.

Limitlessness and Fragments in Témiscouata

.

solo exhibition

.

video installation, drawing installation, acrylic paintings

Beaulieu culturel du Témiscouata

July 19th to September 11th, 2019

Témiscouata-sur-le-Lac (QC, Canada)

.

Reality is made of seemingly scattered fragments which take shape through the action of our senses. These fragments combine into a whole for which we make up a meaning, and then we let it dissolve again. The more I define the limits of these fragments and of the whole that I build out of them, the more these limits elude me. The frontier does exist, yet it has no substance : it is a non-frontier, which unifies all of that it divides. Témiscouata, speck of universe, is also composed of an infinity of fragments. Paradoxically, it is its singularity which makes it a part of the world, and which reveals the world. Here, pieces of Témiscouata are used as ways to explore universal realities.

.

.

.

2018

.

A Division is a Connexion

.

research-creation residency

.

solo and interactive research (conversations, written and visual games), writing of a residency diary, making of a series of acrylic paintings with supplies gathered in situ, readings, planning (map and graph), showing and closing evening (duo with Guillaume Aubertin, composer-interpreter)

Le Récif Collective

December 9th, 2017 to January 27th, 2018

Rivière-Trois-Pistoles (QC, Canada)

.

Within the Récif I experienced the fundamental artist residency : space and time.

This freedom led me to discoveries reaching beyond the objective I had set myself, which was to plan out an artistic project around the concept of A Division is a Connexion“. I came to let inspiration flow more spontaneously, or even playfully, without trying to direct it towards the aims I would want it to serve. I witnessed the benefits of calling for collaboration at the early stages of creation, and I understood that this process of collective reflection is an arwork per se. Last but not least, living and working among the collective I came to realize that, from the very beginning, my approach to art making has been of a committed nature.

.

Here are a few exemples of the questions asked to the members and friends of the collective, through the mean of large sheets of paper put up in the hostel’s kitchen during the residency, and the main conclusions which came out of these collective considerations :

.

Is culture an institution?

Culture is the most fundamental, powerful and insidious type of institution.

.

Does “The Other” exist?

We run after this hypothetical “Other” as we run after love, or we run away from it as we run away from death.

.

Does the end justify the means?

A mean reaches the right balance when we regard it as an end in itself.

.

Does unity make strength?

The strength of an union is determined through the strength that it provides for the individuals who make it.

.

.

.

2017

.

photo : Andrée Bélanger (sculptor)

Origins and Metamorphoses

.

collective residency and exhibition

.

3D installation for Gathering Lands project (duo with Andrée Bélanger, sculptor), experimental short film (solo)

Beauport Art & History Society (SAHB), curator Anne-Yvonne Jouan

other participating artists : Andrée Bélanger (sculptor), Adrien Bobin, Marie-José Gustave, Julien Lebargy, Nytha Oronga, Véronique Sunatori

May to October, 2017

Beauport (QC, Canada)

.

This residency has cushioned my fall back into home country. I wasn’t expecting this. I already knew that the art community was some kind of a professional family to me. I just figured out that from now on I am also a part of the great family of the emigrants. I expected this residency to allow me to learn to work in partnership, to expand my professional network, to concretize an art project. It was the case. However, I never suspected that I would find myself at home among this micro-society of emigrant artists. This experience marks the end, and the beginning, of the journey. I have arrived, yet the world is truly open to me for the very first time.

.

.

.

Raw Perspectives

.

solo exhibition

.

acrylic paintings, filmed interactive performance

February-March, 2017

Allos, Thorame-Basse, Jouques (France)

.

The exhibition “Raw Perspectives” took shape during an exploration initiated last fall with the project “Perspectives on Reality”, which was carried out for the Mmiam (Intercollegiate Minimalist Museum of Modest Arts) in Digne-les-Bains, France. The artist was then inspired by the views of modern physics on the notion of reality. She has now moved on to a more direct examination of the facts : no theories or interpretations, only raw perspectives. The straightness of her style is now advanced to a minimum, in order to show the core of things, through images where the subject contains both the object and the space which allows it to be, where object and space reveal one another.

.

.

.

2016

.

Perspectives on Reality

.

solo exhibition

.

installation work on two sites

Musée minimaliste interuniversitaire des arts modestes (Mmiam)

October 18th to December 16th, 2016

Digne-les-Bains (France)

.

Every single thing in this world is, by nature, impossible to define in human terms. We can certainly describe a particular phenomenon in a variety of ways ; yet even if none of these would be “wrong”, we would still miss on the very reality of this phenomenon because its essence is of motion, and therefore is elusive.

In quantum physics, measuring a size (for example the position of an electron) has a radical impact : the observed object is usually greatly disrupted. Before measure -so by nature- an electron is delocalized ; after measure of its position, it is perfectly localized. This determined position is only one of the delocalized electron’s locations. Since the electron becomes localized as soon as its position is observed, we can never observe it in its -natural- delocalized state ; we can only infer its state from the numerous physical observations which have been made so far.*

Humans have a need to bring reality to a “standstill” -for example through photography- to allow themselves time to observe it, to study it ; however, nothing is ever really still. Therefore, through their very investigation humans alter reality, which essence inevitably escapes them.

So what is reality? It is fundamentally elusive, and can only be grasped by integrating its unfaltering flux. Reality is -literally- to be found “between the lines”.

.

*Notions in quantum physics taken from BONNET, Gabrielle, “Fenêtre ouverte sur la physique quantique”, Culture Sciences Physique : Ressources scientifiques pour l’enseignement de la physique, published online October 21st, 2004 / viewed September 29th, 2016. http://culturesciencesphysique.ens-lyon.fr/ressource/Quantique.xml

.

.

.

photo : Anna Currenti

Rupture(s)

.

solo exhibition

.

ink drawings, acrylic paintings, installations, marble sculpture

August – September, 2016

Digne-les-Bains et Peyrolles en Provence (France)

.

The exhibition “Rupture(s)” is about the various hazards of human existence that sometimes make it seem fascinating and sometimes make it seem absurd. These hazards weave into a web of both natural and cultural data which inevitably stands beyond our understanding.

These places where our schemes break end up making their own pattern. A structure so broad and fluid that it could not fit into a readable design. Even though natural and tangible, this framework of human existence remains a mystery to us, as we find ourselves intertwined within it. Its code encloses and transcends us. Cyclical ruptures. No rupture.

.

.

.

Scattered Snow : Core Exile

.

solo exhibition

.

acrylic paintings, drawings, installations, stone sculptures

April 23rd to May 1st, 2016

Allons (France)

.
It’s been months since the artist has left her country. After quite a bumpy landing, she’s just floating around, mystified. Slowly but surely, the new territory pervades her, and vice versa. Shifting ephemerals and essentials take fuzzy shapes, setting new landmarks on her own inner territory.

.

.

.

2015

.

photo : Cléa Garnero

Hard Fullness

.

duo exhibition

.

acrylic paintings, steatite and serpentine sculptures

in partnership with Benjamin Garnero, sculptor

August 18th to September 15th, 2015

Colmars les Alpes (France)

.

Hard Fullness testifies to the difficulty, or even suffering, inherent in any process of development and any completely honest approach, as well as the resistance and the brute force which are experienced as both the source and the fruit of it.

.

.

.

2014

.

photo : Jean Munro

Finding Diadem in the Pit

.

solo exhibition

.

wall photo installation, 3D installation on plinth, short film screening

In partnership with Paraloeil video production centre and theatre, and with the Archaeology and Heritage Laboratory of University of Québec in Rimouski (UQAR)

October 30th to November 30th, 2014

Rimouski (QC, Canada)

.

We’ve all buried something at some point.”

.

In order to collect equine bones I would use to build a sculpture, I decided to dig out the mare I owned as a teenager, which had been buried on the family land seventeen years before. Having been told about the project, the archaeologist Nicolas Beaudry offered to collaborate on the exhumation. Slowly but surely, the seemingly simple step of collecting material turned into a project of its own. However, since the carcass had been limewashed when put underground, the bones were not clean enough to be gathered yet. The collective exhumation performance gave birth to a short film, as well as to an exhibition. The show included a screening of the short film, along with a mural photo installation and a 3D installation on plinth. This last piece was made of all I could take from the pit : three pieces of stone and two horse teeth.

.

I would have kept the horse, I would have recovered her bones, but there’s nothing but a rotten skeleton.”

.

.

.

photo : Isabelle Godin

Origins

.

solo exhibition

.

2D installation (acrylic paintings) and sculptures

Défi 35 – Fédération franco-ténoise

January 25th, 2014

Inuvik (NT, Canada)

.

I cannot explain how civilization rooted in prehistoric humankind. However, since I have let the process of creation be pre-eminent and tried not to pre-judge the outcome while working on “Origins”, the end product gives a sense of the collective unconscious. And this might be a key to better understand the way humans conceive of and build civilization.

.

.

.

2013

.

photo : Jean Munro

Civilized

.

solo exhibition

.

acrylic paintings, 3D installation, performance

in partnership with artist-run centre Caravansérail

October 17th to 20th, 2013

Rimouski (QC, Canada)

.

That of which humankind is made is denied when civilization and nature are construed as opposites. Humans have long adapted their environments, rather than adapt to them. Now because of rapid population growth, humans have been forced to come up with societal systems, which, as it turns out, do not adequately meet their needs. Paradoxically then, individuals must now learn to adapt to these artificial constructs. What is amazing is that individuals’ attempts to adapt are usually so seamless that completely artificial situations are accepted as “common sense.” Individuals are no longer in the driver’s seat; Frankenstein’s monster lives. Members of society wallow in reassurance provided by the uniformity of the institutions which feed on their work. The relationship is interdependent and its ties bind.

.

.

.

.

.

.

CONTACT

info@andreebelanger.com


© 2020 Andrée Bélanger

ÉVÉNEMENTS

.

EN COURS (2020) : Projet « Nous territoires »

.

.

.

[JUIN]

Le projet « Le nid », qui devait se conclure en France ce mois de juin, a dû être annulé. Je profite de ces semaines de liberté imprévue pour me retirer en forêt. De retour en juillet pour la reprise des activités liées à « Nous territoires ».

.

.

MAI

.

Quelques expérimentations.

.

.

AVRIL

.

L’acrylique expulsée de chez-moi, je prépare de nouvelles peintures à base de pigments naturels. Reconnaissante de pouvoir enfin créer dans le respect des merveilles qui m’entourent.

.

.

Découvertes dans « Make Ink » par Jason Logan.

La couleur ne vit pas dans la matière, elle vit dans la lumière.

Logan relate qu’en 1666, Isaac Newton s’est retrouvé en confinement chez ses parents à la campagne à cause de la peste. Cette période a donné lieu à diverses expériences et réalisations. Un jour, Newton a fermé toutes les fenêtres de sa chambre et fait un petit trou dans un volet, ce qui a permis à la lumière de tracer une ligne nette à l’intérieur de la pièce. Il a placé un prisme dans ce rayon, et observé toutes les couleurs de l’arc-en-ciel apparaître sur le mur. Il a ensuite placé un second prisme devant l’arc-en-ciel, et a vu les couleurs se recentrer en un seul rayon blanc. Conclusion : la lumière n’éclaire pas la couleur, la lumière EST la couleur.

Jason Logan poursuit en expliquant que la lumière est faite de toutes les couleurs, chacune d’entre elles vibrant à une fréquence qui lui est propre. Donc, quand on dit par exemple qu’une encre est bleue, ce n’est pas qu’elle contient du bleu, mais plutôt qu’elle nous renvoie la lumière bleue et absorbe les vibrations de toutes les autres couleurs. Les choses ne sont donc pas en couleur, elles font de la couleur.

Je dirais que les choses montrent la couleur, et donc la lumière.

.

.

MARS

.

Démarrage de la partie création du projet.

Première rencontre avec mes mentors : Hélène Desjardins (aquarelle) à La Pocatière, Yves Arcand (photo) à Matane, Michel Marcheterre (géométrie) à Amqui.

Ce que chacun de vous trois m’apporte est inestimable, et m’ouvre des portes dont j’ignorais même l’existence. Merci infiniment.

.

.

.

.


ARCHIVES

.

.

.

2019

.

Non-frontière et fragments en Témiscouata

.

exposition individuelle

.

installation vidéo, installation dessin, toiles à l’acrylique

Beaulieu culturel du Témiscouata

19 juillet au 11 septembre 2019

Témiscouata-sur-le-Lac (QC, Canada)

.

La réalité est faite de fragments apparemment épars qui prennent corps sous l’effet de nos sens. Ces fragments s’amalgament pour former un tout auquel nous donnons un sens, avant de le laisser se dissoudre à nouveau. Plus je définis les limites de ces fragments et du tout que j’en construis, plus elles m’échappent. La frontière existe et pourtant, elle est dénuée de substance : c’est une non-frontière, qui unit tout ce qu’elle divise. Le Témiscouata, brin d’univers, est lui-même constitué d’une infinité de fragments. Paradoxalement, c’est par sa singularité même qu’il se fond dans le monde, et qu’il le révèle. Ici, des morceaux du Témiscouata servent de prétexte et de support à l’exploration de réalités universelles.

.

.

.

2018

.

La non-frontière

.

résidence de recherche-création

.

recherche individuelle et interactive (conversations, jeux écrits et visuels), rédaction d'un journal de résidence, production d'une série de toiles à l'acrylique sur matériaux trouvés sur place, lectures, planification (carte et graphique), soirée de clôture et de présentation (en duo avec Guillaume Aubertin, auteur-compositeur-interprète)

Collectif Le Récif

9 décembre 2017 au 27 janvier 2018

Rivière-Trois-Pistoles (QC, Canada)

.

J’ai fait au Récif l’expérience de la résidence d’artiste fondamentale : de l’espace et du temps.

Cette liberté m’a permis d’accomplir des découvertes qui outrepassent l’objectif que je m’étais fixé, soit planifier un projet artistique suivant le concept de « la non-frontière ». J’ai accepté de laisser couler le flot créatif de manière plus spontanée -voire ludique- sans tenter systématiquement de le canaliser vers les objectifs que je veux le voir servir. J’ai constaté les bienfaits de l’appel à collaboration aux étapes préliminaires de la création, et comprendre que le processus de réflexion collaborative constitue une oeuvre en soi. Enfin, au contact du Collectif, j’ai compris que ma démarche de création artistique était depuis le début de nature engagée.

.

Quelques exemples de questions posées aux membres et ami.es du collectif, par l’intermédiaire de grandes feuilles de papier affichées dans la cuisine de l’auberge tout au long de la résidence, et les conclusions principales qui ont été tirées de ces réflexions collectives :

.

La culture est-elle une institution?

La culture est la forme la plus fondamentale, puissante et insidieuse d’institution.

.

« L’Autre » existe-t-il?

On poursuit cet hypothétique « Autre » comme l’amour, ou on le fuit comme la mort.

.

La fin justifie-t-elle les moyens?

Les moyens trouvent leur juste mesure quand on les considère comme des fins en soi.

.

L’union fait-elle la force?

La force d’une union s’évalue à la force qu’elle apporte à chacun des individus qui la forment.

.

.

.

2017

.

photo : Andrée Bélanger (sculpteure)

Origines et métamorphoses

.

résidence et exposition collectives

.

installation 3D pour le projet Terre de rencontres (duo avec Andrée Bélanger, sculpteure), court-métrage expérimental (individuel)

Société d’Art et d’Histoire de Beauport (SAHB), commissaire Anne-Yvonne Jouan

autres artistes participants : Andrée Bélanger (sculpteure), Adrien Bobin, Marie-José Gustave, Julien Lebargy, Nytha Oronga, Véronique Sunatori

mai à octobre 2017

Beauport (QC, Canada)

.

Cette résidence a amorti ma chute de retour au pays natal. Je ne m’y attendais pas. Je savais déjà que la communauté artistique constituait pour moi une famille professionnelle. Je viens de découvrir que je fais aussi désormais partie de la grande famille des émigrés. Je croyais que l’expérience de résidence me permettrait d’apprendre à travailler en collaboration, de développer mon réseau professionnel, de concrétiser un projet artistique. Ce fut le cas. Pourtant, je ne me doutais pas que je me trouverais chez-moi au coeur de cette micro-société d’artistes émigrés. Cette expérience marque la fin, et le début, du voyage. Je suis arrivée, et en même temps le monde m’est réellement ouvert pour la toute première fois.

.

.

.

Perspectives brutes

.

exposition individuelle

.

toiles à l’acrylique, performance interactive devant caméra

février-mars 2017

Allos, Thorame-Basse, Jouques (France)

.

L’exposition « Perspectives brutes » est le fruit d’une exploration débutée l’automne dernier au Mmiam (Musée minimaliste interuniversitaire des arts modestes) de Digne-les-Bains avec le projet « Perspectives sur la réalité ». L’artiste procédait alors d’un questionnement inspiré notamment des réponses proposées par la physique moderne sur la notion de réalité. Elle est maintenant passée à une observation plus directe des faits ; ni théorie ni rationalisation, que des perspectives brutes. L’artiste au style épuré repousse les limites du minimum pour montrer l’essentiel, à travers des images où l’objet et l’espace qui lui permet d’être sont tout autant sujet l’un que l’autre, où objet et espace se révèlent l’un l’autre.

.

.

.

2016

.

Perspectives sur la réalité

.

exposition individuelle

.

oeuvre installative sur deux sites

Musée minimaliste interuniversitaire des arts modestes (Mmiam)

18 octobre au 16 décembre 2016

Digne-les-Bains (France)

.

Toute chose est par nature indéfinissable. On peut décrire un phénomène de diverses manières dont aucune ne soit « fausse », mais la réalité dudit phénomène demeure insaisissable puisque mouvante par nature.

En physique quantique, la mesure d’une grandeur (par exemple la position d’un électron) a un effet radical : l’objet observé est généralement fortement perturbé. Avant mesure -et donc par nature- un électron est délocalisé ; après mesure de sa position, il est parfaitement localisé. Cette localisation est une des positions de l’électron délocalisé. Comme dès qu’on observe sa position l’électron devient localisé, on ne l’observe jamais dans son état -naturel- délocalisé ; on peut seulement inférer son état des nombreuses observations physiques qui ont été faites à ce jour.*

L’humain a besoin de « fixer » la réalité -par exemple à l’aide de la photographie- pour se donner le temps de l’observer, de l’étudier ; or, rien n’est réellement fixe. Ainsi, dans son processus d’investigation, l’humain dénature la réalité dont l’essence, inévitablement, lui échappe.

Qu’est-ce donc que la réalité? Insaisissable, elle ne peut s’appréhender qu’en intégrant son immuable mouvance. Elle se trouve -littéralement- « entre les lignes ».

.

*Notions de physique quantique tirées de BONNET, Gabrielle, « Fenêtre ouverte sur la physique quantique », Culture Sciences Physique : Ressources scientifiques pour l’enseignement de la physique, mise en ligne 21 octobre 2004 / consultée le 29 septembre 2016. http://culturesciencesphysique.ens-lyon.fr/ressource/Quantique.xml

.

.

.

photo : Anna Currenti

Point(s) de rupture

.

exposition individuelle

.

dessins à l'encre, toiles à l’acrylique, installations, sculpture sur marbre

août - septembre 2016

Digne-les-Bains et Peyrolles en Provence (France)

.

L’exposition « Point(s) de rupture » se veut une réflexion quant à ces petits et grands aléas de l’existence humaine qui nous la font paraître tantôt fascinante, tantôt absurde, et qui tissent une toile de données naturelles et culturelles qui se situe irrémédiablement au-delà de notre entendement.

Ces lieux où nos motifs se rompent finissent par former eux-mêmes une trame, une structure si vaste et si souple qu’on ne saurait la réduire à un schéma lisible. Pourtant naturelle et palpable, cette trame de l’existence humaine demeure pour nous un mystère, justement parce que nous en faisons si concrètement partie. Son modèle structurel nous englobe et nous dépasse. Points de rupture cycliques. Point de rupture.

.

.

.

La neige éparse : au centre de l’exil

.

exposition individuelle

.

toiles à l’acrylique, dessins, installations, sculptures sur pierre

23 avril au 1er mai 2016

Allons (France)

.

L’artiste a quitté son pays depuis de longs mois. Après les tumultes de l’atterrissage, elle flotte et divague. Le territoire l’imprègne tant qu’elle s’y diffuse, dans un processus d’échange subtil et implacable. L’éphémère et l’essentiel fugitifs se laissent discerner, traçant de nouveaux sillons dans son propre territoire psychique.

.

.

.

2015

.

photo : Cléa Garnero

Dure plénitude

.

exposition en duo

.

toiles à l’acrylique, sculptures sur pierre

en collaboration avec Benjamin Garnero, sculpteur

18 août au 15 septembre 2015

Colmars les Alpes (France)

.

Dure plénitude témoigne de la difficulté -voire de la souffrance- inhérente à tout processus d’épanouissement et à toute démarche complètement intègre, de même que de la résistance et la force brute qui en sont à la fois la source et le fruit.

.

.

.

2014

.

photo : Jean Munro

Trouver Diadem dans la fosse

.

exposition individuelle

.

installation photo murale, installation 3D sur socle, projection de court-métrage

En partenariat avec le centre de production vidéo et cinéma Paraloeil, et avec le Laboratoire d'archéologie et de patrimoine de l'Université du Québec à Rimouski (UQAR)

30 octobre au 30 novembre 2014

Rimouski (QC, Canada)

.

« On a tous déjà enterré quelque chose. »

.

Dans le but de bâtir une sculpture à partir d’ossements équins, j’entrepris d’exhumer ma jument enterrée dix-sept ans plus tôt sur la terre familiale. Informé du projet, l’archéologue Nicolas Beaudry me proposa d’emblée sa collaboration, et ce qui ne devait être qu’une formalité pour ramasser du matériel se transforma en un projet en soi. Cependant, la carcasse ayant été recouverte de chaux au moment de l’enfouir, les os n’étaient pas encore assez propres pour être ramassés. L’événement donna lieu à un court-métrage, et à une exposition présentant le court-métrage ainsi qu’une installation photo murale et une installation 3D sur socle. Cette dernière présente tout ce que j’ai pu extraire de la fosse : trois pierres et deux dents de cheval.

.

« J’aurais ben gardé l’cheval, j’aurais ben récupéré ses os, mais y a juste un squelette pourri. »

.

.

.

photo : Isabelle Godin

Origines

.

exposition individuelle

.

installation 2D (toiles à l’acrylique) et sculptures

Défi 35 – Fédération franco-ténoise

25 janvier 2014

Inuvik (TNO, Canada)

.

Je ne suis pas en mesure d’expliquer comment la civilisation a pu germer chez l’être humain paléolithique. Cependant, ayant adopté pour la production d’Origines une approche plus expérimentale permettant davantage de souplesse lors du processus de création, le résultat d’ensemble révèle un fragment de l’inconscient collectif. Celui-ci apparaît comme un élément essentiel pour comprendre la façon dont l’être humain conçoit puis adapte son environnement, au point d’en bâtir des civilisations.

.

.

.

2013

.

photo : Jean Munro

Civilisé

.

exposition individuelle

.

toiles à l’acrylique, installation 3D, performance

en collaboration avec le centre d’artistes Caravansérail

17 au 20 octobre 2013

Rimouski (QC, Canada)

.

L’être humain oppose facilement nature et civilisation, niant par le fait même ce dont il est fait. Bien sûr, il a depuis longtemps appris à adapter l’environnement à ses besoins plutôt que l’inverse. Or, l’accroissement démographique galopant a obligé l’humain en surnombre à se bâtir en société un système si complexe que ses individus doivent subséquemment s’adapter encore. Ce processus réussit par ailleurs au point que des circonstances artificielles soient regardées comme allant de soi. L’individu conforme peut alors s’en remettre aux institutions qui se nourrissent de lui, autorisant une très étroite relation d’interdépendance.


.

.

.

.

.

.

ME JOINDRE

info@andreebelanger.com


© 2020 Andrée Bélanger